Making an Envelope For An A5 Card Using A Score Board & 2 A4 Sheets of Card


I was watching C&C the other week and saw a new to me lovely lady with some envelope templates and wanted to share and similar idea I had but thought it wasn`t fair to so left it

Then yesterday saw the Glitter Girls on with a new board along with some older ones and they did an envelope using the illusion board – a customer had written and told them how it was done and I have added the link for this

Click here for the Glitter Girls own instructions for a thinner taller envelope 

I thought i`d have a play this morning and was going to do something with punching the edges for a different effect but when I played I found you could make an A5 envelope and thought it would be of interest to a few – so here goes , it started out trying to use up older papers or card and I found this I got at the C&C Hilton weekend last year – I have a friends Birthday coming up and they don`t like to fussy so thought it would be miss

12

This can be done with ordinary score boards by placing your A5 card in the centre and working around – but this workshop shows how quickly you can do it with the Illusion board by the Glitter Girls

I have to say I got this when released and have only ever used it for the scroll once – so now will use a lot for quick envelopes

1 Place the A4 card into the grooves and score down & across on the standard line for the box – I have used pen to highlight the groove

1

1

2 Then score the other score lines for the A5 box – using the outer line – I have marked all with pen – sorry for wobbly lines I did this just in the groove rather than with a ruler !!!

You`ll be left with one edge that will be needed to be cut off – it`s the edge near the scissors

2

2

3.

3. Then make your inside of the envelope – do this by placing the A4 card on the next score line in – as both my fingers show – score on the A5 markings and and cut at these edges

3

4.

4.Now trim the corners as below – do this on all 4 sides of the envelope

4

5. Now at this point you can tape this piece to the envelope with flaps or carry on and do as I have and have the flaps on the under side

5.

6

6. To do that I would say you need a cut out piece so you can get your card out easily – I have done this by cutting away the lines I have done in pen

So mirror the score line from the flap – then again one the single inner sheet of card and follow the line across so they meet up

6.

7

7. Apply tape down the edge and then flip up the corner onto the tape – do this on both side pieces – then apply more tape across the bottom and apply your panel matching the top shape up with below

7.

8

8. Then I have added silver pen touch as will matches the design and covers the pen I used so I could show you all easily

8. 10

9. So now to decorate the envelope – and card – I have done a very simple one using this STUNNING paper if you can call it that – it feels like felt embossed with glitter edges

I have left the back of the envelope plain and then matted the paper onto some mirri  then attached a ribbon and floers  , then applied with foam tape to the card 

9.

11

11. Then I have matched the front of the envelope with the matching paper – this isn`t one for the post be lovely delivered by hand – or if posted in a jiffy bag

11.

12

Tomorrow I hope to show you a twist to this idea using the Martha Stewart punches – so will keep you posted

Thanks for looking

If you are new to my  please have a look around – there is a workshop link on the right  side near the top with 151  listed workshops – click here for my blog

Don`t forget also there now is a search box if you are looking for something – just type in what you are looking for and they will come up

Many thanks for stopping by –  Suzanne

11 thoughts on “Making an Envelope For An A5 Card Using A Score Board & 2 A4 Sheets of Card

  1. Suzanne, thank you so much for this tutorial. I too have this GG board and have never used it but I certainle will now.

    Alice x

  2. Hi Suzanne – I am so pleased to see this tutorial as I was ‘the lady’ who told the Glitter Girls about using the Illusion Board for envelopes and demonstrated it to them at the NEC in March – I devised it because I make ‘cards for the troops’ and although I had loads of card I found envelopes very expensive to buy. It’s great to know that other crafters find this useful – thank you.
    Pat x

  3. I have just bought the eazy box maker board as part of my fist order from JS – is it possible to make these envelopes using this board
    Many thanks Tricia

    • You can make a envelope with just score lines – I haven`t got this board so not sure but any score line normally works – the bonus on the illusion bord the measurements are there with the markings
      Hope that helps a little
      Suzanne x

  4. Many thanks for you very prompt reply – i havae been playing around this afternoon and i think i have managed to figure it out

    Tricia x

    • The Glitter Girls would have it on their site – maybe if you google it and see what comes up – I have just checked out Joanna Sheens site and it is no longer there
      I hope you get sorted and thanks for kind words
      Suzanne x

Leave a Reply

