Gatefold Mega Nestibilities Card Using The Elegant Fan Cd


Today I have been playing with my Nestibilities Mega Die after having this idea in my mind but needed to get my samples out of the way first before starting on this project

I wanted to make a gatefold card and set about doing this with the images and backing paper from the new Elegant Fans cd – by Joanna Sheen

I had the papers already printed off but didn`t use them for what they were meant for so very happy to have them to hand for this

For this workshop I could have used 3 large book shape pieces of card made from the wizard die – but the middle centre piece would have had a score line in which I didn`t want and that`s how this workshop came about

1 First cut out 2 book shapes using the biggest die

Click Herefor workshop on this if you missed it ,and then you are ready to make the card below – or something similar

11

2 I have edged the card with gold pentouch , this needs to be done first if you are going for that effect – take a piece of card 20cm wide by at least 18cm deep ) , this can be the same colour as your book card shapes , I have just used blue to show you how it was done 

Now with double sided tape on the inside of the book sheet stick it down to the back of the large card ( 20 x 18 piece )   

22

3 Now do this with the other piece on the other side – I like to have a little gap but you can make the 20cms smaller if you don`t want a gap

33

4 He`s how it will look with the gold in place – you`ll have excess card top and bottom which will need to be trimmed off

44

5 I then with a pencil a the front of the card marked a line with pencil – this way I know where the shape was underneath when I started to cut but you can do it free hand if you wish

55

6 Now trim off the card top and bottom

66

7 Then you`ll be left with a matching shape on the inside of the card and no fold marks

77

8 I have then made 2 inserts made with the co-ordinating backing paper and again edged in gold – I placed the double sided tape on the top of insert and placed into the card on the left hand side and the for the other side I placed the DST on the back of the insert and then to the card so when the card opens the insert will open too

88

9 Now for the toppers – I have have matted a few layers with the descending dies – I had run out of silk mirri and I would have used that for this project if I had it – at this point I haven`t stuck them done because i`m still unsure about the front

99

10 I felt it was to plain and needed something else so I look my trusty rose stamp from the inside of the teapot stamp and stamped with Olive Brilliance ink on the front panels – it wouldn`t have been a colour I would have normally chose but it went so well with the flowered backing paper

1010

11 As i`m working on the card that is half done make sure you add a piece of card below and to the side so you can take the image over the edge

1111

12 Then place your toppers onto your card with foam tape

1212

13 And a view of the insert

1313

14 Or you can maybe add a couple of tassels or as I have done don`t add the toppers and then add some Organza ribbon first

Place 2 pieces of DS Tape to the back of the card

1414

15 Stick your ribbon down and then I have added 2 panels that match over the ribbon – I had these spare as I had not cut them right when doing the insert – handy that !!!!

1515

16 You`ll be left with a small piece of ribbon across the middle so I have added a flora doodle flower

1616

17 You don`t have to but it just covers it up nicely and adds another twist

17

17

18 Then bring the ribbon around and do the same with the tape on the front then place the toppers over the top

1818

19 And here you have your finished card

1919

20 With matching inserts – you can layer the inserts with vellum or acetate or whatever you wish

20Picture 1942

I hope you have enjoyed this workshop and it`s given you a few ideas – I have another idea to play with later today so will share soon

_________________________

I will add this to my ever growing new section – of workshops for the

Nestibilities Mega Die Section – Click here for more 

110

__________________

And finally

150,000th Blog Giveaway – details

poppy

This card was made for the 150,000th blogcandygiveaway and I will be giving a £20 Joanna Sheen voucher with this card

All you have to do is leave a comment on the

 150,000thhitBlogCandyGiveaway posting with is pinned to the top of my blog – or click here

Comments left on this post about the card will not count so please if you want to enter make sure it is on the giveaway post – just ask if you are unsure i`m always happy to help

Thanks for stopping by –  If you are new to my blogpleasehave a look around – there is a workshop link on the right hand side near the top with 142 listed workshops – click here for my blog

Suzanne

3 thoughts on “Gatefold Mega Nestibilities Card Using The Elegant Fan Cd

Leave a Reply

