Making Two Cards Instead of One


Well following on from yesterday`s post about how to get the background and the matting all from one Cosmic Shimmer sheet 

 click here if you missed that

Well I thought as I needed a quick card for a friend I would make it up

I was on a cost saving idea – what with the one piece of Cosmic Shimmer card and the fact it was using up left overs in the first place

But then as you can see from below I only used one & a half sheets of a gold card ( this was stuff I never use ) and then one sheet of printed backing paper from the Jayne Netley Mayhew cd

Then just one decoupage topper from this sheet – great as I  still have 2 left

10

So taking the matting I had already done I and said you could attach using foam tape – I added all of the fairy except the last oval base topper

I liked the piece but then thought maybe it was to plain so with the addition of one piece of backing paper I made 2 cards from the stack of cosmic shimmer paper

9

So here is the base topper just used with the layering of the other card and papers and I have added 3 paper flowers in the corner

11

Then the 2 side by side so you can see the different effects and looks you can get just by mixing this up

12

Here is the finished card I set out to do a quick but effective card just matted onto a base card – you can make cosmic shimmer backing papers up ready and just have them in your stash ready for a quick card – and with the die cut decoupage even quicker

13

I hope this has given you some ideas – it might be useful when you are making them for charity and wanting to get the most profit out of your work

___________________________

Please take a look at the Cosmic Shimmer section if you haven`t seen it – I have grouped all the Shimmers items together for quickness to look at  – it also has the 12 colour shade chart I made up using different card stock

 click here for the new section

Likewise I have done this with the Nestibilities dies – click here

If you are new to my blog please have a look around – there is a workshop link on the right hand side near the top with 137 listed workshops – click here for my blog

Don`t forget also there now is a search box if you are looking for something – just type in what you are looking for and they will come up

Thanks for looking in – your comments are always much appreciated – Suzanne

5 thoughts on “Making Two Cards Instead of One

  1. Hi Suzanne
    To be honest I am not really into fairies, but I am well impressed by these two cards.
    The clover fairy is beautiful and love the bumble bee too.
    But then I think every card you make is a masterpiece 🙂

    x

  2. love the cards suzzanne i have flower fairies cd now i will havv a few more ideas.
    Thanks
    Marie x

Leave a Reply

