Saving Paper & Ink when Mat and Layering


Well this idea can from a mistake – as you can see in the picture below the design has caught the edge of the paper below in the printer – well that got me thinking  

a

If you take some paper and cut it to the size you need – maybe smaller than A5 so it can sit on that size as a base card

Then cut another piece that is smaller – I have done at least an inch smaller all round – now attach that piece with some tape that you know will come off

I have just done a 2cm size line in the middle as I know a topper will cover it

b

Then you`ll have your 2 pieces ready to put through the printer – I have to say I did the first time on a normal inkjet printer and the middle moved a little – so I set it back up again and put through my top loaded and it worked perfect

I didn`t want to waste my pearl paper – but even that helped as you`ll see in the bottom photo you can see the reverse though and it makes for a lovely effect

 

c

So once it has been through the printer

d

Separate the 2 and you`ll be left with a border effect on one and another sheet for using or for more matting with the card – this way you have just saved covering over all the design with matting and also given a lovely soft look

I love what mistakes bring – hope it has you thinking

e

Some might aready do this – but I thought it worth sharing encase not

If you are new to my blog please have a look around – there is a workshop link on the right hand side near the top with 135 listed workshops – click here for my blog

Don`t forget also there now is a search box if you are looking for something – just type in what you are looking for and they will come up

Thanks for looking in – your comments are always much appreciated – Suzanne

One thought on “Saving Paper & Ink when Mat and Layering

Leave a Reply

