Painting with Cosmic Shimmers & Making A Matted Frame


Today I thought i`d share this quick but effective workshop on painting

with the Cosmic Shimmers

It works in conjunction with the other Cosmic Shimmer workshop I did and uses the colours I mixed up there so I don`t waste them – but it also gives a different effect – click here for the workshop on mixing the colours

So I have taken the darker of the mixed shimmers and dipped my brush into the spray bottle – just remove the spray lid

Then brush back and forth with the colour in the middle section of your card

1

You can make the colours darker by going over the colour again if you want some extra depth

2

Then brush the paler colour across the top

3

And now for the one straight from the Lava Red bottle

4

Allow to dry – and this piece can just before the workshop on saving ink I did the other day – click here if you missed it

I was in saving ink and paper mode – but with this project it also helps as you can`t ever make the same shimmer sheet again as the colour will always vary each time

So I have done this to show how to get a nice effect

Take your sheet of painted cosmic shimmer – measure and score on the reverse – I have done an inch frame around edge size frame , starting from the outside working in – I scores it so it makes it easier to cut and then just went in with my decoupage snips to cut out the rectangle

Once complete you can just trim with your guillotine to straighten the edge if you feel it needs them

5

Take your pieces and mount each one to some mirri board or card – i`m using this embossed one as it needs using up as I have a few sheets

6

Once you have done all 3 frames

7

Mount them altogether – I have done this using foam tape for extra depth

Here you will have a stack of card that all matches completely and has only used minimal cosmic shimmers in the process

8

Please take a look at the Cosmic Shimmer section if you haven`t seen it – I have grouped all the Shimmers items together for quickness  – it has the 12 colour shade chart I made up using different card stock – click here

Likewise I have done this with the Nestibilities dies – click here

If you are new to my blog please have a look around – there is a workshop link on the right hand side near the top with 135 listed workshops – click here for my blog

Don`t forget also there now is a search box if you are looking for something – just type in what you are looking for and they will come up

Thanks for looking in – your comments are always much appreciated – Suzanne

One thought on “Painting with Cosmic Shimmers & Making A Matted Frame

Leave a Reply

