Messy Rabbit Village Craft Shop / Cotton Reel Card Workshop


Today`s workshop is how to make the Craft Shop / Cotton Reel card as it gives lots of different ideas that can be used for whatever scene you might make and you can dress the card up or down however you like

I have also made this card with a Christmas feel – using red and green`s for the reels and then felt poinsettia`s in the corner and snow effects over the houses – sadly I didn`t take a photo but you get the idea

93

1. So take a large A3 sheet of paper and stamp your design onto the paper , keep a level for the shop and then the flowers , you can stagger the trees`s & scarecrow – I have used watercolour paper for this and black versafine ink pad , but you can use card stock or stazon if you wish , just personal preference – then set about colouring in the tree`s and building up the colour

I have used Lyra Aquacolours for this and here is a tiny workshop if you have never used them here

1. 119

2. Carry on with your colouring

2. 214

3. Then comes the part where you can build in the hills , just by colour washing the green in a curve

3. 34

4. Once you have the green in place , then add the blue sky – I have shown this wet so you can see there is a ripple the paper but it will dry

4. 46

5. Now for the next part the picket fence – I have stamped this about 5 times and then filled in the little gaps using 2 scraps of paper laid over the stamped part and then part of the fence gets stamped in the gap – I have then covered the in between part of the fence with green as this will be placed over the green grass and it saved cutting out all the panels !!!!

Colour the flowers in matching tones to the card and then the fence brown –  then when the piece is dry cut all around the flowers and the fence – the top part will be lots of little v`s for the top of the fence but it gives a great effect

5. 54

6. One the piece is cut out

6. 65

7. Mount the coloured design onto some card – I have used the antique gold stardream card – and then using foam tape apply to the back of the fence panel

7. 73

8. Attach that to the mounted card

8. 84

9. And then again onto the base card with is an A3 stardream card trimmed down slightly – I have then decorated the card with the  cotton reel –

Workshop here

placed a sentiment on the card and then added organza ribbon and paper flowers too

9. 93

And there is your finished card – the workshop just throws up a few ideas

__________________________

So all I have left to say as this will be the last workshop before Christmas is

have a wonderful time , and all the best for the new year – I hope it`s a good one for you

 I will post the Product Write up Christmas Eve all being well

My Merry Christmas wish to you – part 1

& Part 2 – how to make the Cracker

If you have seen my blog before here the link to it and you`ll find product write up`s , a challenge & links for 92 workshops

Suzanne

 

 

7 thoughts on “Messy Rabbit Village Craft Shop / Cotton Reel Card Workshop

  1. Brilliant tutorial Suzanne (as usual!)
    I loved this card when I saw it on Joanna’s show, it’s just gorgeous and the fence and cotton reels look brilliant.
    Wishing you and your family a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

  2. Hi Suzanne!
    Another fabulous tutorial! I love your tutorials – they’re always so easy to follow and your cards are stunning – making a fabulous blog. What a bonus for you to be doing product write-ups and a challenge now too!
    As a thank-you for all your hard work, I’d like to pass an award on to you. You can find it on my blog.
    I hope you’ll have a lovely christmas and a fabulous 2009.

  3. Hi Suzanne, What a great tutorial. I have learned so much from you and I,d just like to say a huge Thank-You and to you and yours have a Wonderful Christmas Season. Hugs Rita xxxx

  4. Great tut as always Suzanne. Such a lot of work but the result is stunning.
    I’ve just popped in to wish you and the family a very Happy Christmas. Don’t forget to take a wee break now and then. 🙂

Leave a Reply

