Advise Monthly Page – September – win the Christmas pop up card and a parcel of goodies too


The WINNER of the Septamber Advice page is

JENNY M – no.11

My query is when triple embossing the card naturally curves slightly with the heat. How can you keep it flat as it dries without spoiling the surface of the triple embossed section. In the past I have cracked it as I tried to straighten it, which provides a lovely aged look but wasn’t what I was aiming for he he. Other times the corners have turned up ever so slightly but enough to make it spoil the look on the finished card.

Help he he ) Jenny M.

Well done Jenny please make conatct and i`ll post off your prizes

 

Solve a problem by a step by step workshop 

and win a card & goodies too in the process

Whilst I don`t  claim to know everything about crafts I like to think I can help people learn things I do know about – and if I don`t know then I enjoy finding out the answers

This got me thinking as people are enjoying my daily workshops – how about trying to answer some of peoples cardmaking problems in a step by step form

So If you have a problem with your cardmaking and you want a step by step workshop to show how to solve it then please leave the issue you want solving in my comments at the bottom of the item ( max. 2 questions per person – thank you )

At the end of the month 30-9-08  – I will get a number generated ( watched by another person ) and set about solving the problems as part of one of my daily workshops – this should apear within the next couple of weeks from picking the problem

If your number / problem is picked i`ll send you a card as a way of a thank you

 & a parcel containing card , papers , ribbon & some embellishments too

This is not as in the main photo !!!! – but will be a nice selection of goodies

 this months card will be the  – Christmas Pop Up card

It was my entry to Glenda`s Christmas stamp competition but

happy to offer it up for the prize along with the goodies

( it was my first entry to a competition and they reason why I started this blog – funny I came last but the biggest reward has been doing these workshops which followed after the competition – so a blessing in disguise – now i`m just sticking to the samples and leaving the competitions alone )

22 thoughts on “Advise Monthly Page – September – win the Christmas pop up card and a parcel of goodies too

  1. Lovely card. Have been enjoying all the workshops. Have learnt a lot. Still finding it hard to colour Acetate, when dry it seems to leave gaps of colour. Find if I try to fill the gaps the pens don’t seem to work.

  2. I really enjoy your workshops, Suzanne, they are so easy to follow. Like you I also like the gold pentouch but sometimes have difficulty getting it to look even, especially around curved apertures. I have spoiled many toppers this way, maybe I don’t hold the pens properly?

  3. Hi Suzanne,
    I have made quite a few sets of notelets and handmade envelopes and they sell quite well, however I am not always happy with the finish and I am sure there is a better way to make a really professional set of stationary.
    Would love to see a workshop on the best (and fastest) way to assemble notepaper sets.
    Many thanks
    Linda
    xx

  4. Help, i love the penny card but i cannot get mine to role, we do not have pennies here in Australia so i used a 5 cent but it just does not work, can u show us what else u can use instead of a coin please, love your workshops and your cards !!
    have a great day

    Pauline

  5. Great cards as usual Suzanne. Thanks for setting this up for alll us novices.
    I’d love to know the secret of colouring with watercolours, mine always looks like its been coloured by a two year old.

    Thanks, Judith

  6. Hi Suzanne Thank you for all the fab workshops Your cards always look so professional. I would love to know how to get my matting and layering even and also know how many layers should i use to make the card look affective.
    It may seem like an easy question to some but i never get it quite right .
    Thanks for sharing your beautiful work .

  7. Hi Suzanne
    I really enjoy your workshops and I have asked this question in the wrong place (not very good at this blog stuff)
    I have found that silicone glue makes metallic embossing powder tarnish (it must be the acid) so what glue is best for attaching fairly heavy embellishments when silicone is best avoided.
    X Chris

  8. Hi Suzanne

    Just found your blog…its brill…thank you! It would be really useful to have a workshop on colouring and cutting stamped images as I just cannot get mine to look right! Thanks Paula X

  9. Love the workshops – the first thing I look at when I log on. Now I’d love to know how to make neat tassels using any sort of thread or yarn, to match a card. The bought one are brilliant, but sometimes I want a larger or smaller one and just cannot get a neat look to the top and where it attaches to the card – help please!! Janet

  10. Hi Suzanne, I’d love t a tutorial on double/triple embossing when using printed images from JS Cds. E.g. do I print onto cardstock or onto paper and then stick to card? What adhesive would I use in that case since I’ll be heating the project? How do I prevent it from cracking etc.

  11. My query is when triple embossing the card naturally curves slightly with the heat. How can you keep it flat as it dries without spoiling the surface of the triple embossed section. In the past I have cracked it as I tried to straighten it, which provides a lovely aged look but wasn’t what I was aiming for he he. Other times the corners have turned up ever so slightly but enough to make it spoil the look on the finished card. Help he he 🙂 Jenny M.

  12. Suzanne,not to good at this putting question in right place either lol.I would love if you could do a step by step with fibres and ironing them? don’t know if I have the correct words. Think what you do is always so helpful,Thank you. Love Maureen x

  13. I have some All Night Media chalks and I would love to see some ideas of how to use them.
    Mind are as yet untouched and I think it a shame I am not using them.
    Thanks for all the tuts Suzanne, they are all so interesting.

    x

  14. Hello Suzanne,
    Thank goodness for these tutorials not only do they show us how but give so much inspiration too.
    I would love to learn how to use Nestabilities please.
    Kind regards xx

  15. Hi Suzanne…thank you so much for all the hard work that you put into your blog..the cards, tutorials and competitions.
    I don’t know if my question is relatively easy but I have problems with putting a glaze on decoupage or any other surface that I want to be glossy…..I always end up with bubbles in the glaze.

    Sheila xx

  16. Like everyone else I really appreciate all of the tutorials Suzanne.
    Could you do a workshop on Alcohol inks, I have tried to use them but have not been satisfied with the results I got.

    Thank you for all of your hard work and insiration
    Kate x

  17. Hi Suzanne, I love all your tutorials, so much time and hard work involved.
    Could you do a workshop on how to use Glossy Accents, I like cards I have seen using them but don’t know what to do.

    Christine xx

  18. Imagepac Mica Pigments
    I bought a beautiful set of Imagepac Iridescent Mica Pigments as I saw them demonstrated on a tv channel and just “had to have them”!!! Now, having had them more than a few months (!!!???..), I have never used them and can’t remember how you are supposed to use them – any ideas?
    Thanks, Mandy

Leave a Reply

