Flocking meets Damask Stamp


Well just had to play as my new Flocking Powders arrived and I couldn`t resist them sitting looking at me any longer

The photo probably doesn`t do this justice as it looks better in real life – the texture the flocking gives is amazing – I just wanted to share – I have used the Damask stamp by Glenda and also distressed ink pads by Tim Holtz

How to create this effect

1. Take your piece of card – best not a textured piece so the stamps shows up well – put your dark colour – I have used brick red over the surface roughly

1.

2. Add your second colour – Milled Lavender i have used

2.

3. Take a Brown Stazon and stamp around your piece – I have done a lighter one in the middle – leave to dry

3.

4. Using versamark ink pad stamp your main image you want flocking and applying stickum powderover the versamark

4.

5. Once you have all your design completed using the above technique you need to heat the stickum powder up – also the image needs to be flocked within 20 seconds so you need to work quick

So heat up the powder

5.

6. Apply the flocking – full instructions with the bottle – but squeezing the flocking over the design will see the image come through

6.

7. Once you have the flocking applied and how you want it – I wouldn`t touch it to much at this stage – the bottle just seems to do the job and just some tapping from the back of the card will remove the excess flocking

To finish the piece you need to heat set it for a few seconds as per instructions

7.

8. And there you have your finished piece

8.

This can then be mounted and added to your card – I would put so matching velvet ribbon across the bottom edge of the card to embellish and bring the design together

Soon more ways of applying the flocking in a few weeks time – thanks for popping in

Please visit the advice page if you have thought of anything – extra goodies have been added to the prize

Suzanne

14 thoughts on “Flocking meets Damask Stamp

  1. Like Linda, I have never heard of this to use on cards. A brilliant tutorial and so special with Glenda’s stamps.

    Christine x

  2. Thank you Suzanne for another great tutorial, I have just bought some flocking powder but was`nt sure what to do with it….Ann xxx

  3. Have I found the Flora Doodles?
    Just spent a very pleasant half hour looking over all your projects again Suzanne.

    Carol

  4. Well done Carol – you`re a winner
    Thanks for taking part and being the last winner of the Flora Doodles
    Please drop me your adress via YUKU if poss and i`ll post them out to you tomorrow
    All the best
    Suzanne

  5. Great idea. I wonder if thats the same flocking i had free in a mag last week. Very interesting and looks fab
    Thanks love june xxx

  6. Hello

    Just been looking at your workshop for flocking powder. It is great, I have often wondered how you use this. I am doing a Teddy Bear’s picnick and I am not using stamps but cut out from the net. I I put the stickum powder on the bear and followed your instructions would it work to give a furry image. Hugs and thanks Dorothy.

  7. Dorothy – you have to be careful wether image or mainly stamping as the image can be lost – I did a Messy Rabbit and inked in the eyes but it did take away the orginal feel to the stamp
    Would love to know how you get on

    Suzanne

Leave a Reply

